The Long Way Back Home

The first month of this new year is almost finished so I decided to go back to writing. I need to have the intention to begin so I can achieve something – at least concerning this blog – eventhough everything I write here is based on my experiences, encounters, and learnings.

Beginnings.

It always takes a trigger before we decide to start with something or accomplish a goal. The New Year is always a good trigger.

I told myself I have five things I would really want to achieve this year:
1. Learn how to play a musical instrument.
2. Lose weight and live a healthier lifestyle
3. Go back to learning and mastering a foreign language
4. Start sewing
5. Save

Everything I have written above were the same things I wanted to target last year. Or maybe a year ago. Or many years ago. I don’t really recall.
There were times when I would feel disappointed because others have progressed and I still haven’t. Sometimes I wonder why I don’t have the same drive as they have to reach their goals. I am almost in the brink of blaming myself because I get distracted with other “priorities” that my lists from previous years turn to vanishing foam.

I decided to write this entry after I finished my devotion for today in the Book of Exodus. Chapter 13, verse 18 says,

So God led them in a roundabout way through the wilderness toward the Red Sea. Thus the Israelites left Egypt like an army ready for battle.

If I were to count the many plans I’ve had in the past that never happened, I would definitely lose it. I have so many questions around why things did not work out. But I realise, if things worked out as I would have wanted to, will the questions go away? Will I be ready for what it may bring?

The Israelites took the long way to the Promised Land. Is it because they’re rebellious that’s why the fulfilment of the promise got delayed? Probably, yes; I don’t really have the answer. Tonight, though, I saw a different perspective.
The long trip to Canaan gave God’s people the time to prepare. The roundabout brought them new skills, learnings, and discoveries. At this stage of my daily Bible reading, the Israelites don’t know yet what is waiting for them, but surely, their God does; and the wilderness is a good training ground.

I cannot say my life’s current situation is comparable to the desert. But in this stage of waiting for promises to be fulfilled, doing my best, and aiming for goals to be achieved, I know each day is a preparation. I don’t know what to expect when I accomplish the five things I’ve listed above, but surely my God does. That is enough reason to keep walking through the “long” route for when I arrive, it is not a delay; it will be perfect timing.

Leave a Reply

