Pursue

I know many of us are familiar with the words of Psalm 23. Some of us have even memorized its words since childhood.

I came across the chapter for my quiet time earlier. My favorite verse is verse 6. One of the popular versions is,

“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”

As I am reading the New Living Translation (Gifts and Rewards Edition), I have encountered another version of such verse with something that caught me with glee. It goes,

“Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.”

Notice the word pursue. I don’t know with the guys (or some girls out there) but this had an impact with me as every woman would love to be pursued. The word follow used in other versions may sometimes be associated with stalking (LOL) but pursue — it is done by someone whose love is sincere and willing. And yes, that is such an understatement.

Now, could you imagine the depths of God’s love for you? That He, the Creator of the heavens and the earth pursues you regardless of who you are and what your background is? That his goodness and never-ending love pursues you even if you are undeserving?

And you may say, “Oh, I don’t need it and I don’t care.” It’s alright. He just wants you to know that He is there and that you don’t need to be anything for Him to love you and shower with with His goodness.

One thought on “Pursue

Leave a Reply

