Promises

I have been reading the book of John as of the moment (but yeah, I should have been in Acts na nga e. LOL) and upon arriving to chapters 15 and 16, there have been wonderful promises and statements from the Lord Jesus Christ which I (and everyone else who believes) should always be reminded of:

***

CHAPTER 15

vv. 4 “Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me.”

vv. 7 “But if you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted!

vv. 9 “I have loved you even as the Father has loved me. Remain in my love.

vv. 15 “I no longer call you slaves, because a master doesn’t confide in his slaves. Now you are my friends, since I have told you everything the Father told me.”

vv. 16 “You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name.”

vv. 18 “If the world hates you, remember that it hated me first.

CHAPTER 16

vv. 7 “But in fact, it is best for you that I go away, because if I don’t, the Advocate won’t come. If I do go away, then I will send him to you.

vv. 13 “When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own but will tell you what he has heard. He will tell you about the future.”

vv. 24 “You haven’t done this before. Ask, using my name, and you will receive, and you will have abundant joy.

vv 26 to 27 “Then you will ask in my name. I’m not saying I will ask the Father on your behalf, for the Father himself loves you dearly because you love me and believe that I came from God.”

vv. 33 “I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.

***


What wonder it is to read the Word as you discover that you are given these things! God is marvelous! He never leaves us hanging. We just have to be open to know what He has in store for us. 🙂

***

Passages were from the New Living Translation, taken from The Bible Gateway.

Leave a Reply

