In the Season of Letting Go and Letting God

This is (actually) the second song that occurred to me. I just normally listen to it as I am trying to fall asleep or on my way to work but somehow, it made an impact when I was having a super busy first work day. (Click on the title to listen to the video link of the song on YouTube.)

24
Switchfoot

Twenty-four oceans, twenty-four skies
Twenty-four failures and twenty-four tries
Twenty-four finds me in twenty-fourth place
With twenty-four drop-outs at the end of the day

Life is not what I thought it was twenty-four hours ago
I’m still singing ‘Spirit, take me up in arms with You’
And I’m not who I thought I was twenty-four hours ago
Still I’m singing ‘Spirit, take me up in arms with You’

There’s twenty-four reasons to admit that I’m wrong
With all my excuses still twenty-four strong

See, I’m not copping out
Not copping out, not copping out
When You’re raising the dead in me

Oh, oh, I am the second man
Oh, oh, I am the second man now
Oh, I am the second man 
And You’re raising these

Twenty-four voices with twenty-four hearts
All of my symphonies in twenty-four parts
But I want to be one today centered and true
I’m singing ‘Spirit, take me up in arms with You’
You’re raising the dead in me

Oh, oh, I am the second man
Oh, oh, I am the second man now
Oh, I am the second man 
And You’re raising the dead in me, yeah, yeah

I wanna see miracles to see the world change
Wrestled the angel for more than a name
For more than a feeling, for more than a cause
I’m singing ‘Spirit, take me up in arms with You’
And You’re raising the dead in me

Twenty-four oceans with twenty-four hearts
(Oh, oh, I am the second man)
(Oh, oh, I am the second man)
All of my symphonies with twenty-four parts
(Oh, oh, I am the second man)
(And You’re raising the dead in me)

Life is not what I thought it was twenty-four hours ago
(Oh, oh, I am the second man)
(Oh, oh, I am the second man)
Still I’m singing, ‘Spirit, take me up in arms with You’
(Oh, oh, I am the second man)
(And You’re raising the dead in me)

I’m not copping out
(Oh, oh, I am the second man)
Not copping out
(Oh, oh, I am the second man)
Not, not copping out
(Oh, oh, I am the second man)

***

As per Jon Foreman (Switchfoot’s vocalist and composer of the song):

“I wrote this song near the end of my 24th year on this planet. Wherever we run, wherever the sun finds us when he rises, we remain stuck with ourselves. That can be overwhelming. Sometimes I feel like my soul is polluted with politicians, each with a different point of view. With all 24 of them in disagreement, each voice is yelling to be heard. And so I am divided against myself. I feel that I am a hypocrite until I am one, when all of the yelling inside of me dies down. I’ve heard that the truth will set you free. That’s what I’m living for: freedom of spirit. I find unity and peace in none of the diversions that this world offers. But I’ve seen glimpses of truth and that’s where I want to run.”

We need not 24 to have such realization. Life isn’t about just us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

